Skip to content

the year of patience in pictures.part one.

January 23, 2012

My feet have hit the ground running since 2012 arrived which is why I’m so late with this post.

Every new year I like to pick a word that will be my focus for the upcoming year. Last year I wasn’t sure which word to pick as so many things were changing in my life and I still didn’t know what I wanted to do. So I chose the word action to help me get into gear and figure out in which direction to go.

2011 was a year of travel, revelations, passion, new dreams, new goals & new beginnings. It was also a year filled with surprises both good and bad. What I learned from these surprises was that I was right where I was supposed to be at that moment, doing what I needed to in order to move to the next step.

So, I stopped, I took a breath and I allowed patience to infiltrate my being.

Anyone who knows me, knows that patience is not my strong suit. By nature I am the opposite of patient. When I make up my mind about something I want it done, right then and there.With the plans my husband and I were making though, I knew that for us to be successful in the long-term that I would need to slow down and accept that it was going to be a slow process and that the road was not going to go straight to the destination but be long and winding.

Once I realized this I made the decision to enjoy the journey while still keeping focused on my goals and doing what I could at that moment to make me feel like I was working toward my dreams (e.g. studying graphic design & photography).

It was about March when this epiphany hit me and thinking back about the word I had originally chosen for 2011; action, I realized it no longer really fit for the year ahead so I changed the word to patience which fit perfectly.

I won’t say that I have mastered the art of patience but by adding this word to my life last year it allowed me to stop and breathe at moments where I would have blown a fuse before. It allowed me to go slowly while knowing I was still headed where I want to be. And now looking back I see just what a beautiful adventure it was.

Above I have shared the first half of my memorable photo collection for 2011. In the coming days I will post the second half along with the new word I have chosen to be my guide for 2012.

I really hope your new year is off to a good start and see you all soon.

Bisous,

~J X

Leave a Reply

