Skip to content

september, where have you gone?

September 21, 2011

September has been filled with every possible task that you can imagine.

From cleaning, sorting, organizing, planning, searching to finding time to study and put finishing touches on projects there has been little time to actually take notice of anything outside my little world.

On the weekend I finally took a breath and when I realized the date, I wondered where the month had gone to so fast.

Then the rain came.

Yesterday, the grey clouds rolled in with a vengeance and the skies above began an animated discussion through lightning and thunder until finally opening up and letting the rain fall.

For the first time in months, being confined to the indoors I began to ponder that this was a clear sign that summer was coming to an end.

I realized that my hesitancy to let go of what was a beautiful, fun and blissful summer was more than saying goodbye to bikinis, beaches and warm late nights.

The end of this particular summer for me is also the end of a chapter in my life.

A period of 5 years that were an important growing stage of the journey I’m on.

Not knowing when the next time I will spend a Summer here has made every moment of this one somewhat bittersweet.

Especially when it came to saying goodbye to friends whose arrival I have anticipated with delight in the past.

However, life is not made for looking back and when we do, we miss the beauty of the only moment we ever have, the Present.

New shores and adventures await just like they did when I first came here and although following new dreams can be disconcerting, it is the only option.

The unknown is where the magic is. The unknown is where dreams become reality.

Today, the blue skies have returned.

Walking with Broadway through Olive Groves this morning, I could feel the freshness of this new day, this new season.

Autumn has taken its place, Summer is but a memory.

“Do not go where the path may lead; go instead
where there is no path and leave a trail” 
~Ralph Waldo Emerson
3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2011 23:03

    Ah! Jessika – I’d forgotten about your site 😡 and I was cleaning trough my bookmarks and thankfully rediscovered it!

    “New shores and adventures await” – always. What a great perspective. Experiences end and new ones begin. Paradise will be on the horizon, always, but now is where experiences take form.

    And I absolutely love the your pictures! (again)

    • September 29, 2011 23:26

      Ha – I don’t think that’s the smiley face I was going for.

      • September 30, 2011 08:43

        Hey Chris,

        Lol…Happy you stopped by again and thanks for leaving another inspirational comment and positive feedback on the pics.
        Hope the autumn is bringing a fresh start in your journey as well.

        ~J

Leave a Reply

