Skip to content

butterflies & welcoming september

September 2, 2011

As the month of August closed with a bang this week, September has begun in full production mode.

The laziness of summer has subsided and a renewed energy force has taken over ready to accomplish anything & everything.

Another cool aspect of this past week has been butterflies. I have been surrounded by them. So, I decided to do a bit of research into animal symbolism and it turns out that the butterfly symbolizes transformation which is fitting as we change seasons and as I embrace new beginnings and change in my life as well.

As I now look back on the last 7 days I realize I couldn’t have asked or imagined a better way to seal my summer memories with a kiss.

It’s with a deep gratitude that I  join Monica for the weekly Joy Pockets as my week has been filled with blessings.

celebrating 4 years with my soulmate

watching 2 Caretta Caretta (loggerhead sea turtle) playing in the sea

early morning walks through mystical olive groves

indulging in the art of afternoon reading

2 glorious days spent eating, drinking, laughing & dancing with 2 awesome women

getting totally lost in the bliss of my photography job

“The way to find out about your happiness
is to keep your mind on those moments
when you really ARE happy —
not excited, not just thrilled, but deeply happy.

This requires a little bit of self- analysis.
What is it that makes you happy?
Stay with it, no matter what people tell you.
This is what I call, ‘Following Your Bliss.’

If you do follow your bliss,
you put yourself on a kind of track
that has been there all the while, waiting for you.
And the life that you ought to be living,
is the one you ARE living.
Wherever you are, if you are following your bliss,
you are enjoying that refreshment,
that life within you, all the time.

When you can see that,
you begin to meet people who are in the field of your bliss,
and they open doors for you.
I say, follow your bliss and don’t be afraid,
and doors will open
where you didn’t know they were going to be.”

~Joseph Campbell

I wish you all a great weekend and a beautiful, radiant month.

Bisous,

~J X

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2011 17:52

    Beautiful post. Congrats on finding your soulmate firstly, and on four years together. :)Early morning walks through olive groves and afternoon reading sound joyous, indeed. Thank you so much for sharing this piece from Joseph Campbell. It’s just what I needed to hear. Have a wonderful weekend, Jessika.

  2. September 2, 2011 19:21

    oh my, all so good, but my fave has to be watching sea turtles play. wow

    how exciting, for new beginnings and changes. have a great weekend.

  3. September 2, 2011 20:30

    Congrats on 4 years :)!! So many wonderful things here….the turtles, walks in the olive groves, reading, spending time with amazing people, and then there is the Joseph Campbell qoute. All lovely- thanks for sharing it all!

  4. September 2, 2011 23:16

    Awesome photos ~ wonderful Joy Pockets and Love Campbell quote ~namaste, Carol (A Creative Harbor)

  5. September 3, 2011 03:59

    I am in sync with your art of afternoon reading… Now how do I get an invitation to an early morning walk through a mystical olive grove? Lovely writing, thank you for sharing.

  6. September 3, 2011 15:42

    Love watching sea turtles play and mystical walks through olive groves. What a great week! And congrats on 4 years!

  7. September 6, 2011 04:38

    Beautiful post. Congrats on finding your soulmate firstly, and on four years together. Early morning walks through olive groves and afternoon reading sound joyous, indeed. Thank you so much for sharing this piece from Joseph Campbell. It’s just what I needed to hear. Have a wonderful weekend, Jessika.
    +1

  8. Margaret McLellan (Warwick's sister...Nova Scotia visit....) permalink
    September 20, 2011 22:12

    Hi Jess
    Warwick put me on to you. It’s beautiful. Often think about you & wish you the very best.
    Am now a Grandmother!!! Jacob is 2…. Biased I know but he is so delicious. I think the very best gift is to see things through a child’s eye.

    Love you XXXXX Margaret X

Leave a Reply

