Skip to content

reflections of a life

June 3, 2011

In the world of social media it is very easy to reflect a particular personality without actually being that way at all. We can pretend to be whomever we want to be without anyone to hold us accountable once the computer has been turned off.

I’ve always preferred to put my money where my mouth is. I want to take accountability for myself because it’s my life and I only have this one to play with. There are no second chances.

I am fortunate to be in place in my life where I have the time, ambition,money and support of loved ones to work on the masterpiece of my life.  That doesn’t make it any easier though. I still struggle with tough questions, direction, fear of failure and days where my head is simply lost in the clouds.

I guess my guiding force, what stops me from giving up is seeing how far I have come in this life so far, using my intuition as a north star. I also realize that asking these inner questions are a part of the alternative path I have chosen and what would be scarier is if I wasn’t questioning myself at all.

I’m only 3 days into the #Trust30 initiative and the questions that I am pondering through the daily prompts are already enlightening. It’s amazing how the things you need in your life appear right on time. Magical isn’t it?

Getting back to the basics on this blog has also been a huge inspiration. After a couple of crazy months with barely a moment to breathe and a change a minute happening, I can now focus on the creative aspects of my life which have not been nurtured in a long time.

Along with the 30 day writing challenge I have also embarked upon my own personal challenge. I have added new rituals to my daily life for the month of June. From a morning meditation to spending at least 1 hour with my camera to not skipping the 90 minute yoga session and spending time on other creative pursuits from design to coding to creating nutritious vegetarian food-this is my way to hold myself accountable for who I am and who I want to be.

No excuses….

I can already see the benefits will be plenty.

Bisous X

What does your reflection say about you? Is it giving the message that you want to portray to the world?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2011 15:42

    Hey Jesskia!

    Your pictures are absolutely stunning!

    And I love your words on accountability. I used to make excuses, reasons for I didn’t do something or couldn’t find success. But then I realized, we become subject to our excuses, uncontrollably limited. When you remove excuses you remove limitation, and this is where accountability shows its true powers!

    Cheers!

    • June 4, 2011 09:48

      Hi Chris,

      I believe there comes a time when we must all choose if we are going to walk the talk or simply turn a blind eye and keep stumbling through our lives using excuses.
      It’s our choice and in retrospect should be quite easy. It’s the difference between living an authentic existence or one where we are asleep.
      I hope you are reaping the rewards of the power of authenticity.
      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment 🙂

      ~J

Leave a Reply

