Skip to content

A Lesson In Clarity

March 4, 2011

It’s funny how things work out in life. What makes it funny is also what makes it magical.

Today, in one simple, unexpected moment something that up until now had been a source of concern and cause for frustration resolved itself.

For several months, my husband and I had been trying to acquire a simple piece of paper that is needed for an application that is underway.

A process that should have taken mere days turned into a nightmare that has spanned 5 months, 3 lawyers and more Euros than I want to count.

Even worse is how many wasted thoughts and moments have been dedicated to this cause and how many negative feelings have been created.

As we entered the New Year I decided to take a different outlook and simply accept this as part of the Journey we are on.

The main thing for us was not to let it affect our lives negatively but instead keep our focus on the bigger picture which is what the paper is needed for. We both believed that everything would work out in the end.

“Everyone sees the unseen in proportion to the clarity of his heart, and that depends upon how much he has polished it. Whoever has polished it more sees more – more unseenforms become manifest to him.” ~Rumi

With this new shift in Attitude, we didn’t forget about the issue at hand instead we  just started to look at it from different perspectives while still taking the steps necessary for the final aim in mind.

In the end, after some brainstorming and going down different avenues and trying a few possible solutions, the Answer appeared to us out of nowhere in the most simplest of forms.

There is a simple solution to most things in life. Sometimes it just means getting out of our own way long enough so that it can emerge.

We are surrounded by magical moments daily but when it comes to our own personal problems we seem to become blind to this magic and instead of looking for answers in all experiences around us we focus only on the problem at hand. This leads us to see things not as they really are but as we perceive them to be which in turn makes it difficult for us to move forward towards the solution.

By being open, listening to our inner voice and inviting clarity into our lives we can gain a fresh, new perspective to come through us.It can fill us with an authentic and deep connection to our own truth and in turn allow us to perceive answers where we previously could not.

Clarity eases the anxious heart with it’s simplicity and focus. Clarity is a gift that unfolds from the inside and marks our path distinctly and without doubt.

What can You Change about your Perspective today that can be stopping you from moving forward?

How can You invite Clarity into your own life?


“When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one, which has been opened for us.”~Helen Keller


 Image Credit 
7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 19:49

    Hey Jessika!
    Awesome post and I’m glad that you and your husband were finally able to cut through whatever red tape was getting in your way. Being a citizen of the world isn’t always easy when the country has its own definition of a citizen haha.

    It is so true that our attitude changes everything. Sometimes we just need to step back and look at the situation as a whole and then within the big picture of our own lives and when we do that it’s amazing what kind of new answers and alternatives we can find. Suddenly finding reason is much easier when we do that. 🙂

    And to answer your question – what change about my perspective will I change today – well, I have a very limited amount of time to do what what I need to do and instead of saying, “screw it I’ll do it later” or taking my time, I will use it as a deadline contest I need to beat and work my butt off to get it done! 🙂 B/c the things I need to work my butt off on are the little pieces to the big things that will bring me forward in life in general 🙂

    Great post Jessika!!!!!
    LAUR 🙂

    • March 4, 2011 20:19

      Good for you Laur 🙂

      Your one of the most pro-active people Ive come across and I love your energy. You are wise beyond your years and nothing will stop you fro making it to your dreams.
      Am very happy to be on that journey with you.
      Time is definitely of the Essence as it is limited and there is so much to do and see in this awesome world. Our attitude can either be used to fuel our journey or keep stagnant. I think the choice is clear.

      Always glad when you stop by and leave some words of wisdom 🙂

      ~J

  2. March 5, 2011 14:00

    Hi Jess and Hi Laur,

    You both said it well. Too often we get caught up in some of the little annoyingly frustrating details and our attitude then clouds our ability to see through the problem. If we can distance ourself by stepping back, then we give our view a chance to clear just enough to see a bit of sunlight through the clouds.

    Happy for you Jess that you’ve had some well deserved success and I hope this momentum continues to bring you many more.

    • March 5, 2011 21:34

      Hey David 🙂

      It can be so hard not to let certain things get the best of you and sometimes that is just the beginning of a downward spiral in so many ways. If only we can remember that there are more productive ways to deal with such problems.
      Our “Attitude” can either make or break us.
      Thanks for stopping by and your well wishes my friend 🙂

      ~J

  3. March 10, 2011 19:22

    Hi Jess, Laur and David 🙂 I agree! We need to step back so we can see the picture clearly. Einstein said “You can never solve a problem on the level on which it was created” but that’s what we try to do!

    Do you ever notice how sometimes problems vanish when you’ve given up trying to solve them? Sometimes it’s after I’ve completely given up and given it to God that the help rushes in. Funny thing about that – when I do that, I always KNOW help is on the way!

    Lori

  4. March 14, 2011 05:46

    Hi Jess (and Laur, David and Lori!)

    Congratulations to you Jess for overcoming this obstacle. Hope everything goes smoothly from now on.

    I guess when we’re facing problems and as the days go by it gets increasingly harder, we get even more frustrated. We start to panic and as you mentioned, we lose clarity of what we’re dealing with. I believe that before we begin to accept and open our hearts to fate, it’s essential we take a moment for ourselves first. We need to pull ourselves back, calm our palpitating hearts down and breathe in some fresh air. Only then can we embrace the new perspective and allow everything to fall into place.

    If I could change one perspective in my life right now is the thought that nothing I do is up to scratch. I believe this stems from low self esteem (way to self analyse!) and it’s something I need to work on every day. A friend once suggested I view myself from someone else’s POV especially someone close to me. It did help me feel better about myself and motivated me to do better to make them proud. 🙂

    Anyway, we wish you well with everything else you have laid out in front you. All the best!

    Shaheera

  5. April 19, 2011 16:46

    Ha… Hi Jess, Laur, David, Lori, and Shaheera!

    I couldn’t agree more about getting in my own way. I feel like I’m pulling myself in all different directions. There is no alignment, no clarity. Like a shopping cart with a wobbly wheel that keeps crashing into the Cheerios, I keep trying to push the cart harder in any direction trying to get down that metaphoric aisle and it just doesn’t get any better.

    But taking a step back, clearly looking at the problem, and perhaps spraying a little WD-40 on that one tiny wheel, can make things flow significantly easier.

    Really insightful Jessika, great post – and great comments!

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

