Skip to content

12 Ways To Amplify Positivity

February 25, 2011

“The positive thinker sees the invisible, feels the intangible, and achieves the impossible.”

~Adam Hilbert

Isn’t it better to greet your problems with a burst of Enthusiasm rather than Despair?

As long as you remain aware of your challenges, a positive train of thought is more likely to get you from here to there so you can resolve them.

Positive People seeks to be a positive force in the world, to make a difference. They try and work to correct their problems instead of allowing them to run rampant in their life. And perhaps the defining characteristic of a positive person is their willingness to think happy thoughts as they work against insurmountable odds.

After all, if we’re going to change the world (or ourselves), we don’t get extra points for being miserable.  With that in mind, here are 12 simple ways to amplify positivity in your life:

1. Daydream. Remember how it used to feel to lie back on the grass and watch the clouds as a kid and let your imagination run free. There’s nothing stopping you from doing that right now. We get so caught up in our daily lives and we start to associate things that lead us to relax and ponder as a waste of time or childish. It’s not. You may find some of your best ideas come from letting yourself go.

2. Listen to Uplifting Music. Music is capable of making us feel a varying range of emotions from upbeat to melancholy. Why not choose to play some of your favorite tunes that always leave you feeling motivated and abundant with energy to tackle the world.

3. Practice Gratitude. Make a list of 3 things you are thankful for every day. There is something very remarkable about acknowledging all of the little things that made your day a success and this positive feeling will carry over into your daily life.

4. Hang around People who are Positive. People are contagious whether positive or negative. It’s up to you to decide which influence you want to let into your life. I once lived in a mountain town in the Rockies where a lot of my neighbors were Olympic Athletes or random adventurers who either had or were planning on climbing several of the top peaks of the world. You could feel the positive energy of this town as you drove into it. I learned so much about greeting every day with delight and passion, my time spent there was enlightening.

5. Post Inspiring Quotes in your Vicinity. I love to start my morning by reading an inspiring quote that sets the mood for my day. I once read  that the first 10 minutes you are awake as well as the 10 minutes before you fall asleep are the most influencial times of your day and should be used to increase positivity through reading or thinking inspiring thoughts. Go ahead and print out what inspires you and leave these words of wisdom by your desk, bed or on your mirror.

6. Let Go of Control. When things don’t go according to plan in your life, what is your reaction? Do you accept it and find an alternate solution or does anger and annoyance overtake your being until your left drained physically and emotionally. Your not in control of the weather, gas prices and many other things so why bother letting it frustrate you.

7. Take it Easy. In more ways than one. Don’t take yourself too seriously. Laugh at yourself. Have a sense of humor that allows you to not be rigid or set in your ways. Not everything is black or white.

8. Spend Time Alone. Allow time each day for you to spend alone with your inner thoughts. This encourages a relationship where you learn about what you truly want and don’t want in your life. It allows you to see the adjustments you need to make in order to get rid of things that block positive energy from entering.

9. Do Yoga. Yoga is not just a way to stay fit physically. The beneficial effects of Yoga are numerous for mind, body and soul. As you begin your Journey with Yoga you are encouraged to look for the good within yourself, others and the world in general. In other words you invite positive energy into all aspects of your life and also send it back out into the world as you set your intentions for the day.

10. Replace Negative Thoughts with  Positive Ones. Whenever your inner voice starts to fight nasty with you by filling your head full of self-doubt, stop it in its tracks by responding to its affirmation with your own positive one. If it tells you, you aren’t going to reach your goal of climbing Kilimanjaro because your weak, lazy and a failure, respond by using real examples that showcase your will, strength and determination. The more you do this, the more you will notice this voice in your head become less frequent.

11. Be Nice. Every day, life presents you with another opportunity to say something kind, generous, and genuine to somebody. Whether it’s complimenting a co-worker on his new tie or admiring someone’s accomplishment, boosting the positive energy in someone else’s life boosts it in your own too.

12. Let Go of the Past. Harnessing any negative emotions towards any one person defeats the purpose you are aiming to embrace and hurts you far more than the one you are busy sending evil vibes to. Let it go and free yourself from the harmful energy.


As you can see there are many ways to invite Positive change  into your daily life. There’s nothing stopping you from starting right now. Believe me when I say the benefits are well worth the effort.


How do You embrace Positivity in your life on a daily basis?


On another Positive note, check out my thoughts on Life & Living in Balance by reading my Interview with Jen Saunders @

My Smiling Heart 🙂


Image Credit
10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 23:13

    Hi Jessika,

    Great post! My favorite way to stay positive is daydreaming! I have always been a day dreamer, and often chastised for it growing up, not that I am grown up, I indulge in it on a daily basis and I find it makes me a positive person. The more I dream, the more I start to take small actions and work towards my dreams.

    I have also, recently, let go of a weight of un-forgiveness that I had been carrying around for years. Now that it’s gone, I don’t know how I lived with that daily burden.

    • February 26, 2011 10:00

      Hi Leah,

      Happy to see you here again 🙂

      I’m a daydreamer too. I think I spent most of my time in school staring out the window daydreaming 🙂
      I believe that daydreaming leads us to see a glimpse of our soul or true desires.

      Long before I ever lived in Greece or ran a Juice Bar, I daydreamed about it from my bacteria bench in the Lab I worked at in Calgary.

      I’m so happy that you are well on your way on your personal Journey of discovery.

      Jess

  2. February 26, 2011 04:12

    The most important of these it to keep positive people in your life. I found that when I had naysayers in my life, it was easier to give up on things. Positive people want good things for me.

    • February 26, 2011 09:48

      I totally agree with you on that one Jessica.

      Sometimes it’s hard to accept that some of the people in your life only bring drama to the scene and you would be better off without them but when you make the decision to walk away from those type of people and see the difference it has on your life, motivation and success it’s amazing.

      Happy to see you here 🙂

      Jess

  3. February 27, 2011 13:54

    Hi Jess,

    Positivity is such a valuable trait to develop.

    I remember reading once that we should think the best, believe the best and express the best in others. Affirming others is great for building more positivity in them and also in ourselves.

    Thanks for your tips on how to be positive.

    • February 27, 2011 19:23

      Hey Dave 🙂

      It can sometimes be hard to focus on others and wish them well when we are so caught up in our daily struggles.
      We forget that we are all interconnected and by bringing positive energy into someone else’s life it also brings positivity into our own lives.
      Positivity and Laughter make each day bright 😀 And in the long run help keep us healthy and vibrant.

      ~J

  4. March 1, 2011 15:04

    Jessika, wonderful post! I am totally a daydreamer, and going through your list I do quite a few of these in my daily routine. I have recently started practicing Kundalini and wow have I seen a difference. I find my body is in balance and I am feeling much more positive, grounded and focused.

    I am off to print off some quotes, never thought of doing that, and going to give it a whirl. Thank you, just reading this has just brightened my morning.

    • March 1, 2011 18:00

      Good For you Peter:) sounds like you are well on your way already.

      I’ve never tried Kundalini but have many friends that practice it and have nothing but great things to say. I practice Ashtanga but no matter which yoga one is attracted to doesn’t really matter as doing asanas and practicing proper breathing is the main key.

      Really happy you stopped by and thanks for the great comment. Let me know how the quotes work for you:)

      ~J

Trackbacks

  1. Are you playing to win or are you playing to lose?
  2. February Reflections

Leave a Reply

