Skip to content

Be Here Now

February 16, 2011

“Be Happy For This Moment, This Moment Is Your Life.”

~Omar Khayam

Do you remember the last time you Really felt Alive? How about Radiantly Happy? A moment in time where you thought; “Wow, everything is perfect, everything makes sense, I just am.” Did you feel like you were seeing the world for the first time in all its absolute beauty and colors? Did you also feel like you finally had an understanding of yourself and your journey through life? Did everything meld together into one Mesmerizing Epiphany? If you answered Yes to the above then you’ve experienced what is available to all of us, at any time, the magic of Now.

The Now or Present moment is something that humans seem to have a hard time with. Some associate it with New Age babble while others think they have to live in a cave in India to find it. No matter what our thoughts are on it, we all can benefit from spending more time there.

When was the last time you heard someone say; “Wow, I’m deliriously Happy right now”  without a because that followed? Unfortunately, for most of us this is rare. We go through the motions of everyday life anticipating future events that we believe will make us happy. Happiness is our 2 week vacation, in 4 months. Happiness is that big screen T.V that after 2 more paychecks we can afford. Happiness is the house I will buy when I move to California. When you start to equate not only happiness but other feelings of being with future events that have not happened, instead of what’s happening around you, right now, you are missing out on all that you will ever have, the simple beauty that exists around you at this very minute.

We allow ourselves to get caught up in the hectic day-to-day events of our lives that push and pull us like rubber bands until somehow we have no control over what we are doing. Before you know it your present reality is only your future plans or the past that has you locked in nostalgia. We’re like robots going through the motions of society’s “normal day.”

Simple Moments

Happiness is anchored in the Present. Being in a place that allows you to be totally in the present moment allows you to see the truths in life. Whether it be a flower blossoming, a rainbow across the sky, your wife/husband laughing, a bird singing his song or waves crashing against the shore. We live in an amazing world that is even more amazing once we learn to embrace it through our senses in the now. The more time you allow yourself to spend in the Present, the more times you will invite those moments that lead to the sort of realizations that bring about real meaning into our lives.

The moments when we neglect to realize we have drifted off into past realities or are living our days for future rewards are moments that we have wasted to a cause long gone or not yet arrived. By choosing to recreate the past as a daily reality, we often choose to recreate pain, fear or loss when we could be opening our senses to what is around us at any given moment. I often wonder how many missed opportunities to smile, laugh or love have slipped by us while we were too busy crying for days gone by.

Simply Be

The present is simple. It’s not something to be achieved. It’s something that is always available to us, anytime we choose to remember. Recently, as I was hiking in the mountains of southern Crete, hugging the coastline of the sea and heading in the direction of a small town that is only reachable by foot or boat, I was overcome by the feeling of how amazingly beautiful and simple life is. All of my thoughts were focused exactly on where I was at that moment and what I was doing. I wasn’t living memories of the past or anticipating the future. I JUST WAS and it was great.

So how can we live our lives in such a way to have more such moments? The beauty of the present is that it’s everywhere. You don’t have to be hiking in mountains or traveling the world to find it. It is not something to be searched for and found. It simply requires us to be conscious. Easier said than done, right. Fortunately, there are many ways to easily become aware on a daily basis. It may seem hard in the beginning but before you know it through practice and perseverance they will become second nature.

Simply Do

Here are a few methods I use to pull myself back to reality when I feel like I’ve drifted away:

Breathe. There is an art to Breathing and it can transform your life. By simply taking a few deep breaths when feeling overwhelmed, stressed, sad, angry or lost you have the power to bring yourself  back to the present moment and see what needs to be done or addressed in a clear frame of mind. Even when feeling Happy, breathing brings you back to your center and teaches you gratitude.

Go for a walk in Nature: I’m lucky that where I live at the present time I’m surrounded by the best of all natural worlds. I have the Ocean with its lovely beaches and crashing waves, I have forests and mountains. There’s nothing quite like getting out amongst the majestic power of the natural world. It never fails to bring me back to awareness. Next time your out for a walk, really feel the rhythm of your movement, be aware of the ground beneath your feet, or the sand between your toes.

Pause. Take your time with whatever you are doing, really get into it from every aspect or detail. Chew your food slowly and really taste and savour it. Really listen to what the person sitting opposite you is saying. Feel every muscle moving and stretching and the pumping of your heart while your on that morning run. Smell the sweetness amongst the trees after the rain. Wake Up to what is really around you.

Laugh. Laughter is Magical. Laughter is Healing. Laughter is Now. When you laugh, you are opening yourself to all that is pure and good and releasing it back into the present moment to share with all those who surround you, so Laugh often.

Before you plan the next date with regrets from the past or anxiety about the future, take a long, deep breath and open your eyes to your immediate surroundings. What do you see?

All we will ever have is this Present moment, the Past is gone and the Future hasn’t arrived(and may not).

We must learn to appreciate what is Right Here, Right Now. The Present, which also means Gift, truly is a Gift once we learn to accept it.

 

I would love to hear what ways YOU use to keep your feet deeply planted in the NOW of everyday life.

 Image Credit
7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 10:12

    Hi Jessika,

    nice post you have here! I especially love: Happiness is anchored in the Present. How very true. Although there is much joy to be gained through reminscing about the Past or planning for the Future, nothing beats actually immersing oneself in the current moment. After all, the scent of fresh flowers are still better than dead ones or tiny buds, yes? 🙂

    Tariq anchors himself by concentrating deeply on his prayers. Whenever he takes the time to recite them, it’s just between him and God. Nothing about the past or the future. It’s just that exact moment in peace.

    Shaheera on the other hand, takes a break and creeps out of her routine or comfort zone. When we’re stuck in the same motions every day, it’s better to change the scene. That way, we appreciate what we’re doing and savor every minute that’s taking place.

    That’s just our two cents worth. Thanks for posting this up! It’s pretty good!

    ps: Shaheera LOVES the Alchemist too! 🙂

    Tariq and Shaheera

    • February 17, 2011 20:45

      Thanks Tariq and Shaheera for stopping by and taking the time to post your point of view.

      It’s great that you individually have your ways of getting back to the present moment through prayer or switching up your routine.

      Change is a powerful motivator and can be used in so many different ways to empower us and Yes make us appreciate what we’re doing.

      My yoga practice helps me stay centered on a daily basis. 🙂

      Jess

  2. February 19, 2011 06:29

    Hi Jessika

    I love that quote “Be happy for this moment, this moment is your life.”

    Simple moments, simply be and simply do. What a great motto for each day to find happiness.

    I do the same things when I feel myself losing control and getting frustrated with life- pause, breathe, walk and enjoy nature (i love the beach but am far from it). I don’t laugh enough though, I’ll have to work on that one.

    I would like to add this one “Don’t let what is within your grasp today be missed entirely, because the future intrigued you, or the past disheartened you- act when you have an opportunity.”

    • February 19, 2011 19:29

      Hi David,

      Thanks for stopping by and taking a moment to comment:)

      The quote by Omar Khayam, is one that I try and remind myself everyday. It puts things in perspective for me.

      I love what you added in at the end; Act when you have an opportunity. How many opportunities are missed because we fail to notice them in the present moment.

      I highly recommend Laughing. There is nothing better than laughter for the mind, body and soul. Laughter rejuvenates 🙂

      Jess

  3. February 20, 2011 04:50

    Beautiful, Jessika. We’ve been exploring this in my yoga training a lot. Saying “when x happens I’ll be happy” or ‘when I’m like x I’ll be happy” is merely deferring our happiness to a future moment. But if we can’t be happy now, there is no possibility for happiness. Why? Because now is all there is. Now. and Now. and Now. The future is only an idea, but the experience we have right now is only right now. Everything right now is perfect because there is no other way for it to be.

    Yoga is definitely my main tool for becoming present. It’s allowing me to be with the experience as it is happening, and leading me towards becoming ok with what is…be it being ok with discomfort, happiness, frustration, anger, etc. It’s all troughs and peaks and I’m learning to surF!

    • February 20, 2011 13:33

      I’m so happy to hear your on this journey Quinn:)

      Yoga is the best thing that I’ve ever done for my mind, body and soul. Every thing I learn while on the mat transfers into my life and alters it for the best. Some of my best ideas or realizations have come while being a yoga pose. Didn’t your idea for your blog come from being in pigeon pose?

      Stay on your wonderful journey for truth and meaning my dear Quinn, your well on you way 🙂

      Hope you are having a wonderful weekend.

      Jess

  4. February 20, 2011 17:20

    Yes! My pigeon pose was making my hips talk to me and they said “Urban Soul Retrieval.” I had been pondering the idea of a blog for awhile but until I heard the name in the deep stretch of my hips, it didn’t come to reality. After the class I went home and designed the initial idea for the look of the blog and worked on it until it was done a few days later! Crazy how inspiration can come from an uncomfortable yet releasing pose.

Leave a Reply

