Skip to content

What do You Believe In Signs or Coincidences?

March 2, 2011

I’ve been pondering many random thoughts lately, therefore this is going to be a random post.

My mind has been on overdrive lately throwing various questions about life, directions and meaning my way.

I feel a magnetic force pulling me inward to explore the depths of my being and take a closer look at why it functions the way it does.

I see clear signs daily of  entering a new fresh, exciting, thought-provoking  journey.

The signs are everywhere in the blogs that are enticing me, the posts I am reading or randomly coming across and the people I am drawn to. A change is underway.

The signs are real and if I’ve learned anything through my years of travel is that signs are not to be ignored.

Recently after reading Sean Ogle’s To Blog or Not To Blog and then coming across John’s recent post over @MotoVagabond, I started pondering even more what direction I am heading in and what exactly I expect from myself in regards to this blog.

When I started this blog it was and still is for my own personal growth as an outlet for my own creativity, a way to free my thoughts, be vulnerable and grow.

Through this first phase of blogging I’ve now realized that I want to learn more about the technical aspects of blogs such as design, code and what have you. New passions are emerging and that is all part of this amazing experience.

Already on this short journey I’ve learned so much and have met some really interesting people along the way.

But all of a sudden I feel a pull away from where I was originally heading and from things I originally related to.

I feel like a new page has turned, I have learned what needed to be learned initially and now I must move forward to the next phase if I want to continue to grow.

I feel like I’m entering a new dimension of life, where everything is changing so fast and chaotic but still pulling me in this inward direction to search what and who I can find.

“You need chaos in your soul to give birth to a dancing star.” ~Friedrich Nietzsche

In my life so far I’ve spent more time exploring my outer world and throwing caution to the wind and forging forward. It has gotten me where I am today and I’ve loved every moment of it. This nomadic existence makes up the fibers of my being and will continue to guide me.

However, I think there comes a time in everyone’s journey when we must stop and really take a look inward and not only see our passions and goals but dig deeper to the very core of our being.

I don’t want to push myself to write multiple posts because that is what is somehow expected. I’m seeing some bloggers fall into this trap and it turns content that was once great into mediocre.

I want to write because I have something that needs to be freed from my soul, something that I feel will benefit me to release. If in turn that inspires someone who reads my blog then that’s all part of the magic.

So here I go on my quest for truth. Truth for myself and my ideals. I don’t want to be constrained by invisible deadlines as I am the master of this experiment.

To be quite honest until recently coming across a few different writers that ooze personality, truth, vulnerability and real enthusiasm I was becoming disillusioned. I think it’s easy for a lot of bloggers to fall into the rut of wanting to please their audience which in the end defeats the purpose and the reason why the reader showed up in the first place.

That was until I serendipitously came across what I needed to. The following people are a welcomed influence on my path and have helped to open my eyes to:

  • Pushing the boundaries and starting a Revolution like Tessa. I’ve only recently come across her blog but it looks like this girl is going places literally and physically.
  • Losing yourself in the beauty of simple words and pictures like Jeanine @ Wonderings and Wanderings when she feels so inclined to share with us.
  • Going deeper and starting to ponder what has meaning for you like Quinn in her Peacock Parlor.
  • Jumping both feet into a New World like Mykel is talking about over @ b. planet

I guess the people who are inspiring me are the ones who are really just being themselves, integrity intact and it’s shining through in their writing and actions. They follow their own schedule.

Will I stop following them if they are motivated to only post once a month? NO! Because that’s not the point. The point is I only want to read posts from them that show they are being true to themselves and not feeling forced to meet some imaginary quota.

As I continue my journey in the weeks to come  I see many changes in the air with this blog and with my own life. It’s soon time to pack up and head back to the Greek Island where our evolving business  Fresko awaits us for the summer. I’m also excited about taking in some French Culture and seeing Paris through the lens of my camera as my husband and I escape to France for a while.

I can’t say on what days I may write a post or even what I might be inspired to write about but isn’t that the beauty of traveling inward and allowing your true self to emerge.

I guess what I’m getting at and accepting as well as inviting into my life is mystery of the unknown.

I just don’t know where I’m headed and to be honest I don’t want to know because then that would mean I would be following some set path and isn’t that what we are all trying to get away from-a schedule that doesn’t come from your soul but more out of a need to satisfy imaginary reactions of others.

Yes Change is in the air and it feels Real and damn Good.

“There’s no secret to Balance, you just have to feel the waves.”~Frank Herbert


Image Credit

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 23:17

    Hi Jessika.

    I love that fact that you are sharing your own personal reflections of your own life here on this page.

    Change is a good thing, by welcoming change inside and out, you allow yourself to grow. We must make our choices based on our own decisions and not take direction for our personal lives from the crowd.

    Enjoy your time away, may it be a wonderful holiday with your husband. New sights, new people, new memories :)

    Believe in yourself.

    • March 3, 2011 09:40

      The ideas and feelings I shared were something that had been brewing within me for a while and finally could no longer be maintained and simply needed to erupt to help move me forward,

      I truly believe that sharing my reflections on what’s happening within me is the only way to make sure I am true and authentic within my own life.
      If I want to grow then I must push myself in that direction.

      I’m happy to be on this journey and thanks for sharing it with me :)

      Always glad to see an insightful comment from you David:)

      ~J

  2. March 3, 2011 16:50

    Jessika,

    I found this post very thought provoking.

    Actually, I just finished up reading “The Alchemist” for, like, the sixth time in my life, and your thoughts and language very much mirror that novel. I’m glad to see you getting your hands dirty and asking some of the sticky questions – then waiting patiently. Though our paths seem to be operating in reverse, it will be interesting to see what is next for you. :-) Best of luck moving forward.

    • March 3, 2011 20:06

      Hi John,

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment :)

      Only through reading other thought provoking posts like yours and pondering the meanings behind them and being challenged to see different perspectives can you gain some clarity in regards to where you stand.
      By the time I came across your post, something was already brewing inside of me and you help me to understand it better. So Thank You for taking a leap of faith on your own blog and not being afraid to show where you are and where you are going. :)
      I’m looking forward to seeing what other wisdom will come from you as you continue your Journey.

      ~J

  3. March 3, 2011 19:54

    Jessika,
    I love this: I want to write because I have something that needs to be freed from my soul, something that I feel will benefit me to release.

    Well said! It may well be that blogging is the perfect forum for understanding the self. I feel a little like I’m in the Twilight Zone – once I was the only person I knew who wanted to write; now I am surrounded by introspective, amazing people who love to write and who don’t think twice before delving into the mystery of life and of themselves. Magical!

    I agree that ” the beauty of traveling inward and allowing your true self to emerge.” I’d add that traveling off the home path gives you the time and opportunity to travel inward. Paris – wow! You do lead a glamorous life! Will we see photos and blog posts from this trip? I hope so!

    Bon Voyage!
    Lori

    • March 3, 2011 20:17

      Hi Lori :)

      It is Magical in so many ways. This time last year I would have never considered opening myself up in such a public way but I can now see the tremendous benefits in doing so.
      Also being surrounded by so many other souls who have turned to writing as a way to understand themselves and where they are going in life is very inspirational. Especially at times when a random morsel of wisdom comes across your path just at the right time. There are signs everywhere, just like your post today :)

      As for Paris it may sneak its way into a blog post as I’m sure I’ll be feeling very inspired by its beauty:)

      I really appreciate you stopping by.

      ~J

  4. warwick permalink
    March 3, 2011 20:36

    Good realization about being true to yourself….no good being a people pleaser. Be a true leader and people will follow and even if they don’t you are being true to yourself and as Polonius advised his son in Hamlet: Be true to thyself and it follows as the day does the night…thou canst be false to no man.
    Also along those lines are the words of Joseph Campbell: Don’t take the piss but follow your bliss!

    Well I inserted the first bit of JC’s but I think it is close to what he meant.

    Bon Voyage Warwick

    • March 4, 2011 09:31

      Hi Warwick ,

      If you can’t be true to yourself then you will never be true to others and it shows through everything you do.

      We are all on our own personal journey only some of us haven’t realized it yet.

      Follow your bliss and the doors that were once shut will open :)

      ~J

  5. March 6, 2011 04:45

    Jessika,

    I love your writings….you inspire me…

    A change is underway..a big one! Connecting together as a global community and learning from one other is the most inspiring and it’s so important that we continue to inspire one another!

    I know with your loving heart that your journey will always be filled your truth.

    peace & love
    andrea

    p.s. much gratitude to you.. : ) x

    • March 6, 2011 21:26

      Hello Andrea,

      You are an inspiration to me and I look forward to following your Journey.

      Thanks for stopping by :)

      ~J

  6. March 24, 2011 15:13

    Jessika, what an amazing post. What I love about this is you write authentically from within. Your blogs are your souls outlet and a tool for growth.

    I just have one reaction…wow. I came out of this one with a new perspective. I started blogging that way – having some cool thoughts in my head, wanting to get them out. Now I blog simply to blog. Hoping to increase SEO rankings and keep up with the consistency of my posts.

    Ironically what I write and am passionate about is focusing on the why in life. And it seems I’ve lost sight of why I’m writing these blogs.

    And I absolutely love one of your final points of not knowing where you are going, but straying from the path is what we all strive for. Reminds me of a Steve Jobs quote I use a lot, “You cannot connect the dots looking forward, you can only connect the dots looking back.”

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

